Owning Violet by Monica Murphy: Review

Posted December 2, 2014 by Holly in Reviews / 0 Comments

Owning Violet by Monica Murphy: ReviewOwning Violet by Monica Murphy
on December 2, 2014
Published by Random House LLC Genres: Contemporary Romance
Format: eARC
Buy on AmazonB&NiBooksKOBO
Goodreads

New York Times bestselling author Monica Murphy begins a sexy new contemporary romance series—perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Emma Chase—that introduces three sisters born to wealth, raised to succeed, ready to love, destined to make waves.

I’ve moved through life doing what’s expected of me. I’m the middle daughter, the dutiful daughter. The one who braved a vicious attack and survived. The one who devoted herself to her family’s business empire. The one who met an ambitious man and fell in love. We were going to run Fleur Cosmetics together, Zachary and I.

Until he got a promotion and left me in the dust. Maybe it’s for the best, between his disloyalty and his wandering eye. But another man was waiting for me. Wanting me. He too has an overwhelming thirst for success, just like Zachary—perhaps even more so. He’s also ruthless. And mysterious. I know nothing about Ryder McKay beyond that he makes me feel things I’ve never felt before.

One stolen moment, a kiss, a touch . . . and I’m hooked. Ryder’s like a powerful drug, and I’m an addict who doesn’t want to be cured. He tells me his intentions aren’t pure, and I believe him. For once, I don’t care. I’m willing to risk everything just to be with him. Including my heart. My soul.

My everything.

 

I received this book from the author/publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Today we’re celebrating the release of Monica Murphy’s Owning Violet! This is the first book in her new Fowler Sisters series. Below, I share my review with you 🙂

Owning Violet was definitely a scorching hot romance! From the moment Violet and Ryder came together, no pun intended, I could feel the chemistry coming off the screen of my Kindle. The manipulations, the who was using whom for what and why, characters I loved hating, in addition to Ryder and his filthy mouth, kept me turning pages to finish this in a sitting. The only thing I wish we had more of was with the mention of someone from Violet’s past. While he/it/they was a minor part of the story, he/it/they were mentioned several times and it led me to think said someone would reappear to to add to the angst. Since this is was the first book in the series, I am wondering if they may show up at a later time. Overall though I really enjoyed Owning Violet and look forward to the future books in the series!

Signature

About Monica Murphy

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Monica Murphy is a native Californian who lives in the foothills below Yosemite. A wife and mother of three, she writes New Adult and contemporary romance for Bantam and Avon. She is the author of One Week Girlfriend and Second Chance Boyfriend.

Holly

About Holly

I'm a born and raised Jersey girl (not as seen on TV) who loves escaping in books. I Google everything and I hate rain. I have a deep love for Starbucks, shopping, and HEAs. Stay as long as you'd like. Stalking is highly encouraged :-)

Tags: ,